B ’n’ Sweet Treats CEO Angela Williams Gets Personal Sharing Her Amazing Story And Strength

karen warren
6 min readOct 4, 2018

--

B ’n’ Sweet Treats, LLC was founded in 2016 by Angela Williams. Angela is a Certified Wilton Method Instructor. She specializes in Homemade Custom Cakes, Delicious Sweet Treats and more for any occasion. In the beginning of this year, I have added Custom Digital Designing to my business as well as Event Planning. Take a look at my one on one with this amazing momepenuer and her inspiring story .

Karen Warren: How did the idea of your business come about?

Answer: It’s kind of a long story. In 2012, my eldest son was murdered in the streets of Oakland, CA (Bay Area). This was a traumatic and very trying time for me and my family. By me being a mother of 3 children and also a grandmother of 3. I had to continue to keep my beliefs, trust and faith in God, my lord and savior, Jesus Christ. Praying for strength and guidance to see me through the tragedy I had to endure. Also, figuring out what it was that I can do to keep my mind occupied. While, I was battling the grief process of the loss of my son I knew I had to stay busy. I drew, made jewelry, and from time to time played around with a sewing machine. While maintaining a 9–5 (Leverage). One day I so happened to go to the fabric store to pick up some fabric for a project I was working on. I noticed that the store offered some Cake Decorating Classes. So, I inquired and enrolled in Course 1 of 4. That’s when I had found my niche. After, I had completed all 4 courses (4 sessions each). I started to bake and decorate cakes and other sweet treats for friends and family. Not long after that word of mouth started landing me numerous customers. In 2015, I wanted to take Cake Decor to a whole another level. I took more courses at Wilton’s School of Cake Decorating and I became a Certified Wilton Method Instructor. I took on a 2nd job as the Cake Decorating Instructor at the very same store where I took my courses to become a Cake Decorator. After just one year of teaching I knew baking and cake decorating was my passion and I had found my purpose. In 2016, I stepped out on faith and became an Entrepreneur and start to focus on building my brand (B ’n’ Sweet Treats, LLC).

Karen Warren: How do you find people to bring into your organization the way you do?

Answer: Students that have taking my courses and I have observed their capabilities. I already know who is on a certain level and ready. Those with the experience and that are capable and willing to work hard and put in work.

Karen Warren: What 3 pieces of advice would you give to other children who want to become Entrepreneurs?

Answer: I would have to say #1 Have a clear vision and set goals. #2 Believe in yourself and what you want to accomplish. (If you don’t believe in yourself, who else will) #3 Be prepared to put in the work. (Hard work pays off, success is not accomplished overnight)

Karen Warren: If you had the chance to start your career over again, what would you do differently?

Answer: All I can say is that I would have gotten into Baking and Cake Decor a long before I did. I would be a lot farther than I am in my business and I would have multiple businesses.

Karen Warren: What would you say are the top 3 skills needed to be a successful Entrepreneur?

Answer: #1 Have a strong work ethic and great customer service skills. #2 Knowledge — know the industry that you are getting into. (Do your homework, research, read, read, and more reading) #3 (Most importantly) Leadership skills you want to be able to delegate. Remember a successful Entrepreneur cannot run a successful business without a team.

Karen Warren: What have been some of your failures, and what did you learn from them?

Answer: I took a risk and book a Wedding out of town. I had just started my business. I did a nice job. The only thing was with the equipment I had to utilize was not updated and I could not provide all of products that was ordered. Not only that, I drop the ball and was late setting up. What I learned from this was that the amount of products that were ordered was really not needed. So I have learned to educate my customers on how much should be ordered for a certain amount of guest. Also, I have learned Time Management and how to prep more accurately in advance.

Karen Warren: How many hours do you work a day on average?

Answer: Approximately 12 hours a day on average

Karen Warren: Describe / outline your typical day.

Answer: M — F I work at the Hospital, come home and do invoicing or accounting. If I have orders during the work week I start on my orders. Majority of the time I will prep a day or two prior. Starting with fondant work prep and baking. It depends on the size and time that I need to complete the orders. Fri — Sun, I’m knocking out orders and preparing for the following orders.

Karen Warren: How has being an Entrepreneur affected your family life?

Answer: It has ups and downs. My family is very supportive of me and my business. They help out when need be or if my assistant is not available. Also, if they feel I’m stressed or exhausted they will step in. The frustration comes in when they see how exhausted I get. They will remind me that if I don’t slow down I’m going to burn myself out. Which is good for me and my health. You know sometimes we all need a reminder. If I’m not good, how can I be any good to my customers?

Karen Warren: What motivates you?

Answer: My customers motivate me. I have a mentor that inspires and motivates me and pushes me to be great! Thanks to Christi’an Annice!

Karen Warren: How do you generate new ideas?

Answer: I do a lot of research and keep myself updated with the trend. Also, my customers come with a lot of different request. If there is some request that I feel I cannot execute. I will come up with an idea that I can execute. Majority of the time my idea is a plus. I’m adding a twist on what they are requesting. I’m making suggestions and turning their request into masterpieces.

Karen Warren: What sacrifices have you made to become a successful Entrepreneur?

Answer: There is an old saying “I had to robbed, Paul to pay Peter”. In meaning, I have put off paying some bills to invest into my business. I have stayed up for hours and hours putting in work and losing a lot sleep (putting wear and tear on my body).

Karen Warren: Where do you see yourself in 10 years? 20 years?

Answer: Within the next year I will no longer be working a 9–5. In 10 years I see myself with multiple businesses and generating multiple streams of income. In 20 years I will be a Millionaire and one of Forbes top Entrepreneurs. I speaking into existence and claiming what I work so hard for.

Social Media Accts: facebook.com/bnsweettreats

instagram.com/b_n_sweettreats.llc

www.linkedin.com/in/angela-williams-70a990138

angiesavaunnah.wix.com/bnsweettreats

--

--